LEGACY OF ST. EDWARD WRESTLING ACCOMPLISHMENTS

Since 1959, St. Edward wrestlers have been very successful at the state tournament with 515 qualifiers over the past 67 years, of these, 384 have placed. One hundred and twenty-six have won state titles; including: four- four-time state champs – Ryan Lang, Lance Palmer, Collin Palmer and Dean Heil, plus nine- three-time state champions – Alan Fried, Eddie Jayne, Mason Lenhard, Mark Jayne, Matt Koz, Sean Nemec, Jamie Clark, Domenic Abounader and Karson Brown. There have been sixteen twotime state champions – Phil Welch, Jim Heffernan, Greg Elinsky, Jeff Strauss, Sam Neider, Yoshi Nakamura, Mike Kulczycki, Andy Hrovat, Mark Moos, Brian Roddy, Gus Sako, Mark Martin, Bryce Andonian, Bryce Hepner, Paddy Gallagher, and Ryan Bennett.

St. Edward has the state record for the most individual state champions (126), most team championships (48), most state placers (384), and most qualifiers (14) (3X), at the state tournament. St. Edward has the Division 1 record for most team points (258) and placers (13) at the state tournament. St. Edward is also 10X Ohio Dual Meet State Champions.

Ninety-Two St. Edward Wrestlers have finished second, sixty have placed third, thirtysix have placed fourth, thirty-eight have finished fifth, twenty-five have finished sixth, three have finished seventh, and four have finished eighth at the state tournament.

Many of these wrestlers have gone on to distinguished college careers. St. Edward is proud to present our Honor Roll of Olympian, NCAA Champions, NAIA National Champions.

2008 - BEIJING OLYMPIAN

Andy Hrovat

St. Edward Honor Roll of NCAA Champions

Jim Heffernan (Iowa) – Division I; 1986

Greg Wright (Edinboro) – Division II; 1986

Alan Fried (Oklahoma State) – Division I; 1994

Ryan Bertin (Michigan) - Division I; 2003, 2005

Dean Heil (Oklahoma State) - Division 1; 2016, 2017

St. Edward Honor Roll of NAIA Champions

Duke McKean (Olivet Nazarene) 1992, 1993